Facebook Pixel
EmpowHER Guest

I would like to know what it is about caramel (not the coloring), the caramel candy or flavored foods that makes it something people with celiac disease cannot have. Haven't been able to find the answer. thank you

By Anonymous February 28, 2011 - 12:12pm
Rate This

Add a Comment2 Comments

EmpowHER Guest

I agree with MaryAnn. It is usually a product that some companies may put flour in it. Kraft carmels I believe are safe. Read the label. If it is bolded with the ingredient WHEAT, stay away from it. Companies are starting to finally listen to us celiacs. If they just would take that little bit of wheat out of their recipes and replace with non-gluten, more people could eat their product. Good luck.

March 1, 2011 - 5:24pm

Hi Anonymous,
Your question is intriguing. An internet search led me to a blog on the website: celiac.com. A member shares that information on a commercially produced caramel apple listed wheat flour as an ingredient. My guess is that commercially made caramel candy may contain wheat flour or can be contaminated with wheat flour if the previous batch of candy contained wheat flour and shared the equipment caramel is made in.
Homemade caramel can be made with only milk, condensed sweetened milk or cream, butter, corn syrup and vanilla...and it's gluten-free!!

February 28, 2011 - 6:15pm
Enter the characters shown in the image.
By submitting this form, you agree to EmpowHER's terms of service and privacy policy
Add a Comment

All user-generated information on this site is the opinion of its author only and is not a substitute for medical advice or treatment for any medical conditions. Members and guests are responsible for their own posts and the potential consequences of those posts detailed in our Terms of Service.

Celiac Disease

Get Email Updates

Related Checklists

Celiac Disease Guide

Have a question? We're here to help. Ask the Community.


Health Newsletter

Receive the latest and greatest in women's health and wellness from EmpowHER - for free!